Another entrepreneurial jurno

The Kansas City Star reports today that 24-year-old Nick Sloan bought the online version of the Kansas City Kansan from Gatehouse Media. Gatehouse closed the Kansas City Kansan print edition in January.

Sloan, 24, said he became the sole owner of http://www.kansascitykansan.com on Saturday after negotiating an unspecified payment based on royalties.

“Right now it’s just me,’ he said. ‘I have a few things lining up, but as of right now it’s me and I’m looking to cover everything I can in Wyandotte County. I’m excited about it. I’m originally from Wyandotte County, so I have some idea of what readers will like.”


So far, he’s doing great.
He’s taking a beat-blog approach, and has been posting since Sept. 16. Today, he did 11 posts. Count ’em. 11. According to the Star’s report, he’s kept a couple of advertisers who had been putting display ads on the site, and he’s got a couple more.
(Cross-posted on RJICollaboratory.org)

Leave a Reply

